architheque


thoughts on DIY
August 11, 2007, 12:15 am
Filed under: design, DIY, in the kitchen

Wired mag is probably not where I want to see Martha Stewart, but I do subscribe to the following thought that she presented in an interview here:

Wired: One reason people like projects is because they get a sense of control over their environment and technology. It gives them ownership.

Stewart: That’s why I say, “You own it if you made it.” You don’t own the pie if you buy it. You just don’t. Doing projects really gives people self-confidence. Nothing is better than taking the pie out of the oven. What it does for you personally, and for your family’s idea of you, is something you can’t buy.

Making my own stuff does do something for me personally, and I have a really hard time finding the words to explain that to all the people I’ve met lately who don’t “do” anything but work, play, and consume. I guess when it comes to “making” or “producing,” either you understand the urge or you don’t. A lot of folks can’t see why I’d want to create more work for myself – why not just go home and watch TV for the rest of the day? But equally so, I can’t see why they’d want to, well…go home and watch TV for the rest of the day. There are so many amazing recipes to try, antique dressers to refinish, clothes to sew, walls to paint, vegetables to garden, books to read, blogs to browse, and ideas to be inspired by.

I’m a designer, a creator, and a tinkerer. Sue me.

Speaking of amazing recipes to try, this one came up through Apartment Therapy (Kitchen) that suggests something devilishly delicious to do with the scads of zucchini coming out of the garden: Chocolate Zucchini Cake. The write-up makes it sound much better than you’d first think. And I do have a new springform pan…

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

