architheque


Mid-Century Modern Table | Project 2
September 5, 2007, 9:40 pm
Filed under: DIY, projects

I picked up this table on craigslist (From Sylvie at So Sylvie and Blossom Home, incidentally. It was nice to meet you!) and could barely contain myself with glee. I’m so glad to finally be finished with the refurbishing, not only so I can move on to other projects, but also because I’ve been dying to show everyone how awesome it turned out.

I’m not sure if there is any finish that bores me more than fake wood grain printed on plastic laminate. I couldn’t wait to get BIN primer on this and cover it up.

And oh how I adore a good gloss:

Dark brown is a surprisingly hard color of paint to find at a hardware store. I was hoping for a slightly darker, more bitter brown, something that really embodied the color “espresso,” but this was the best I could do in the circumstances.

I also regret not having a “before” picture of the assembled table, so it could be seen in all it’s muddy blahness.

The legs were a medium-dark finish that luckily sanded off readily. But then, there aren’t many finishes that a random orbital sander won’t take off readily. In addition to being pleased as punch about the way the table turned out, I’m still butterflies-in-the-stomach-in-love with the DeWalt sander that I bought for this and the dresser project.

Because the legs were real wood, and in great shape, I wanted to leave them as unadorned as possible. Two coats of clear satin polycrylic ought to do it. I anticipated the contrast between the pale wood and the dark tabletop being spot-on perfect.

And it was.

Oh gorgeous little table, how I love thee. Let me count the ways.

It expands with a middle panel and will seat six, I’m guessing. I still owe the top a coat of thick glossy lacquer to protect the finish. But that can wait. I’m going to admire it a while first.

Edit: Sylvie came to the rescue and found the “before” picture she used to advertise it!

lindseys-dining-table

The legs were slightly darker than appear in this photo, but it gives you an idea of how it came to me. Doesn’t it look so much better now?

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Impressive!!!!!!
I don’t know what’s better – the found shape, the glossy paint, the legs or the joint-holder-things!!!
It’s really classy, a propper addition to one’s home.

Comment by naranca

gorgeous!

Comment by jessica

It looks amazing Lindsey!! i wish i could afford to hire you to help me with the myriad of projects for the shop. You are GOOD!
I’m sorry I deleted the photos I had of the “before” table. I could have sent them to you. Before and after shots are so rewarding.
Pray tell, what model of sander did you get? I’m always interested in new tools.
please come by sometime for tea!

Comment by Sylvie

Sylvie,
I went whole hog and picked up the “D26453K 3 Amp 5-Inch Variable Speed Random Orbit Sander Kit” for a little over eighty bucks on Amazon (because I had access to free shipping). I was replacing a really cheap, bad one, and anticipating a whole lot of sanding in the near future, so I thought it was worth the investment. I love it!

Comment by architheque

Okay, “D26453K 3 Amp 5-Inch Variable Speed Random Orbit Sander Kit” — got it!

Comment by Sylvie

Your talents continue to amaze! You’ve inherited some of your dad’s ability to work with wood. LOL Aunt Audrey

Comment by Audrey

Thanks Aunt Audrey! Wait til you see the chair I pulled out of the dumpster at work…I thought of you and Maite and the story of your curb shopping the whole ridiculous bike ride home (with the thing precariously tied to my rear basket, of course).

Comment by architheque

Lindsey!
I was weeding out photo files today and found the before shots of the table! Would you like them? Please send me an email.
xo Sylvie

Comment by Sylvie




Leave a Reply

