architheque


Refinished Filing Cabinet | Project 3
September 18, 2007, 3:38 am
Filed under: DIY, projects

Happiness is a warm gun cool blue.

In addition to being super psyched that my copy of Florence Broadhurst: Her Secret and Extraordinary Lives showed up today (which I won in a contest on Apartment Therapy…yay!), I’m heaving a huge sigh of relief that I finally have a filing cabinet to stash “important stuff” in.

I spent months waiting for a decent lateral filing cabinet to show up on Craigslist. When this finally popped up, I grabbed it. The sanding, priming, and painting took longer than I expected, but I think it was a function of how busy I was rather than actual work involved. It took me a few days to settle on a color, and to be honest, I was hoping this would turn out more gray than it did. It’s a bit Pottery Barn-ish, and it doesn’t quite go with the birch colored bookshelves next to it, but it’s good enough for right now. The price was über reasonable considering the piece is solid wood, and I’m confident in my ability to resell it when the time comes.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

