architheque


Prickly Pear Cactus Fruit
September 25, 2007, 8:36 pm
Filed under: in the kitchen

Having studied various Opuntia in a landscape class back in Tucson, I could not resist the pile of prickly pear cactus fruits staged front and center at my local Mi Pueblo. I have absolutely no idea what to do with them, but at 3 fruits/$0.99, I think I can afford to experiment.

Of course, I was a total gringo and picked them up with my hands. You’d think after studying them I would know better. It was not until the cashier gingerly pushed the fruits down the counter with a piece of paper that I realized my error. My hands began stinging as I unlocked my bike. The tiny almost microscopic needles feel not unlike rubbing your hands with ground fiberglass.

But that doesn’t deter my excitement. Now the question is: what recipe?

(leave comments at your own risk – for best results please send comments to my email until wordpress/akismet stops deleting them as faux spam)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

