architheque


Tool Chests To Fool Your Guests
October 18, 2007, 9:11 pm
Filed under: design, DIY, home

I found this excerpt in one of my journals, dating back to 2004. It amused me so much, I thought I’d repost it.

I saw a bright orange six drawer tool chest in the sale papers today. As I’ve nothing more than a folding table heaped with various powertools on the back porch, I’ve been considering investing in some kind of appropriate container once I get settled on the other side of the country. Tabletop belt sanders aren’t the objects de arte I had in mind for my apartment. With enough bravado, do you think I could pass off a tall tool chest as indoor furniture? I already have a bright blue retro laminate dresser from a modern furniture store. I’m seriously thinking of getting a funky tool box and putting the TV on top of it in the living room. It’s that or get a second dresser. Clothes dressers don’t have those handy shallow top drawers, though, and neither do they come with ball-bearing drawer rollers, which are essential with heavier tools. Add another item to the list of things I must invent and market myself: tool chests for people who have no sheds, garages, basements, or workshops. Tool chests that look good in the hallway! Tool chests to fool your guests! Do I hear an “Amen, sister”?!

Do you think the above bright blue Clarke chest could be adequately worked into a living room scheme? Could it be coated with fun wood veneer à la Todd Oldham? Either way, I’d be a-okay with having a kitchen counter that looked like the red workspace on this page.

All ye of small spaces, what do you keep your tools in?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hello Lindsey:
It’s Sarah Hromack here, Editor of Curbed SF. I’d love to speak with you, but can’t seem to find your contact information on this blog. Email me? sf@curbed.com

Cheers,
SH

Comment by S.Hromack

[…] here for full […]

Pingback by centralsq » Tool Chests To Fool Your Guests




Leave a Reply

