architheque


Feist’s Concert Backdrop: Performance Art!
November 11, 2007, 9:51 pm
Filed under: design, life in general

I went to a Feist concert in San Francisco Friday night. I wasn’t sure I was going to go, as my cat got in a bad accident Thursday and I was feeling pretty down. But the concert was sold out, my chances of getting tickets in the future were slim, and I really wanted to go.

So glad I did. As a backdrop for about a third of the show, she had the most amazing shadow work! I couldn’t catch the name of the lady doing it over the noise of the crowd; I wish I could credit her. There were moving silhouette vignettes, puppetry, finger painting, fabric shadows, projector overlays, and all kinds of mixed bag techniques, but the effects were almost always poignant (when they weren’t amusing).

It caused no little amount of consternation this morning to find there’s little documentation of the stuff on the web. No Google results came up (am I searching for the wrong thing?), nothing in the live concert clips on YouTube, and almost nothing on Flickr either. This lone pic from Flickr user photoscott was the best I could do.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Clea Minakerper. :) (i saw Feist concert last night at Oporto (portugal), and the backdrop was just stunning. :)

Comment by margarida.

thanks! :)

Comment by architheque

I saw her concert in August and LOVED the shadow work, too! So pretty.

Comment by sarah




Leave a Reply

