architheque


Gobi 65
November 14, 2007, 5:27 am
Filed under: in the kitchen

After having Gobi 65 for the first time, I pretty much decided I never wanted to consume cauliflower in any other form, ever.  It was a serious gastronomical revelation.  Epic.

Unfortunately, the whole deep fry thing is not second nature to me, so I don’t get to eat Gobi 65 very often.  (To prove what an understatement that is, let’s just say tonight’s Gobi 65 was only the second time I’ve ever had the stuff. )

It’s hard to go wrong with flouring and frying just about anything.  In the south, we hold this truth to be self-evident. That said, I had never had fried cauliflower before…and that’s a cryin’ shame.  When fried to a golden brown, the surface crisps oh so nicely, and the insides become meltingly soft.  It’s so, so good.

But as good as the cauliflower is fresh out of the fryer, there are ways to make it even better.  Say…dredging it in spicy tomato curry.  The Gobi 65 recipe I use for reference calls for ketchup, which I don’t keep around, so I freestyle my curry with canned tomato sauce, chili powder, brown sugar, salt, and soy sauce (also, omit the “Ajinimotto” – that’s MSG).  I’d like to rewrite the recipe to reflect my own preparation, but honestly I could not tell you how much sugar I put in, much less chili.  I don’t use the peppers or onions either.   Once you make this once, you too will be able to ad lib on the ingredients.

The easiest way to get me to eat a whole head of cauliflower in one sitting.  Really.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Regarding your comment to the Pay It Forward: I’d be just fine with you using photos in place of paintings. I’m pretty sure I’m not going to get enough interested parties to be exclusive. Just confirm in the comments…

Comment by Nat

i’ve never thought to deep-fry cauliflower — but you make it sound so delicious and do-able!

does it still count as a vegetable after the deep-frying?

Comment by lucy

those look fantastic…….

Comment by raaji

Thanks!

Comment by architheque




Leave a Reply

