architheque


PERNILLA & PATRICIA Pillow Covers
November 18, 2007, 6:20 am
Filed under: home, projects

They will never let me be a famous design blogger because in my eagerness to share what I’ve been doing on a particular day, I frequently fail to properly stage my photographs. That, and ’cause I keep posting food…

Today I finished up some pillow covers for a friend that have been sitting undone on my dining table for the better part of two weeks. They’re nice. They have envelope closures and everything. Thus, I will blog them before they go away.

Said friend’s living room went from bachelor pad mismatch to a stylish green and espresso color scheme, predominately thanks to IKEA and a few choice Craigslist picks. The sofa and loveseat pillows were a strange size that defied ready-made covers. So I offered to make a few from some really nice canvas weight fabric that IKEA was selling in fun patterns. I waved aside my friend’s worry that I didn’t have time to do it and they’d never get their pillow covers. “Don’t worry about it,” I said, “I’ll knock it out in just a few hours.” Right. Two weeks later…

One of the PATRICIA fabrics. I wish the black branches were flocked velvet texture. Wouldn’t that be great?

And a PERNILLA fabric behind that.

What I learned from this exercise is that I need a new sewing machine. Or, at the very least, a user manual for the one I have. I’ve never had such a bad time with the settings before as I did today. The riddle of stitch length to tension setting can be insanely frustrating if you have no guidebook (or grandmother) to tell you what to do. But ultimately, I managed to prevail. They’re done, and they look great!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

