architheque


DIY Sun Jars
December 3, 2007, 7:40 pm
Filed under: DIY, projects

Finally got around to making my own sun jars this weekend. They’re so cute! The instructions at Not Martha are the best I’ve seen so far, as she goes into the whole “which lights should I not buy” routine, which is very helpful when standing in the middle of the aisle at Lowe’s faced with thirty rather expensive options. I got my Malibu lights for $8.96 each due to a pricing error, so look sharp and compare the prices between the displays and the shelves. If you find a discrepancy, they’ll honor the lesser of the prices.

I frosted in the inside of the jars rather than the outside, and I settled on epoxy to hold the panels to the glass and Blue Tak to hold the batteries to the panel. The epoxy worked pretty well, but the Blue Tak didn’t work so well on two of my four jars. In the future I’d use epoxy on all of it.

The jars are darling glowing in the early winter dusk, and I think they’d make great presents!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

