architheque


Make It Up Bok Choy and Tofu
January 4, 2008, 5:13 pm
Filed under: in the kitchen

bokchoy.jpg

One of the benefits of being naive about a particular type of cuisine (and eating solo) is getting to blithely make up your dinner as you go. I came home starving one night and decided instead of inhaling cookies while I cooked dinner, I would whip up a batch of 3 Minute Baby Bok Choy as a pre-meal snack. Only, I didn’t have all the ingredients – even for something that simple. Not having grown up on “Asian” food, though, it really doesn’t matter to me if my dishes are authentic. So I made do with the ingredients I did have. Of course it turned out delicious. How else could bok choy turn out?

Impromptu Baby Bok Choy

2 to 3 heads baby bok choy, washed and trimmed
1 tsp diced garlic
1 tbsp low sodium soy sauce
1 tbsp sesame oil
1/2 tbsp rice vinegar

Go once around the pan with a cooking oil of your choosing. Heat garlic in pan, then add bok choy and saute until wilted. In serving bowl, mix soy sauce, sesame oil, and vinegar. Add bok choy, toss well, and enjoy.

tofu1.jpg

Best of all, I fried up some tofu cubes while I was eating the bok choy and then tossed them with the sauce that had remained in the bottom of the bowl. That, my friends, was good eating.

tofu5.jpg

Fried Tofu

1 package firm tofu
1 cup cornstarch
1 tsp salt
canola oil

Drain tofu and cut into nugget sized pieces (or cube it smaller if you like). Heat 1 inch of oil in bottom of cast iron frying pan. Mix cornstarch and salt in a shallow bowl. Dredge tofu in cornstarch. Set aside until cornstarch coating on surface of tofu gets moist. Dredge one more time in cornstarch. Fry in hot oil, turning once, until golden brown. Drain on paper towels.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This looks yummy! I’m going to try it tonight :)

Comment by callmethequeen

is this liza? hope you liked it! :)

Comment by architheque

Hi there! I wanted you to know I made this for dinner tonight and it was delicious!! I thought I made too much, but I wolfed it all! I’ve never cooked tofu before (except for tofu burgers). I’ll be adding this to my staple of dinners. thanks for posting!! Gonna try the baby bok choy next

Comment by Liza G

awesome! i sauted some baby bok choy in bacon last night…totally random, but OMG good. i’ll post a picture or two for inspiration!

Comment by architheque




Leave a Reply

