architheque


Colorful Compote Cake Plate
January 21, 2008, 2:35 am
Filed under: found goods, shopping

I’m feeling cranky about eBay/Paypal lately due to just finding out that Paypal now gets a cut of everything I sell (old news, but do I ever read the endless stream of “newsletter” emails? Obviously not.) As I tend to use eBay as an extended yard sale, rather than a business model, I’m not happy about being forced to “upgrade” to a business Paypal account. Until I get over this tantrum stage, I’m reduced to just buying.

In my window-shopping for a cake stand, I saw this and thought it was cutely retro enough to pass along. And hey, everyone’s telling me yellow is this year’s color.

compote_cake_plate_001.jpg

I’d hoard it ’til April and break it out for the first spring cake. A lemon pound cake, perhaps?

And a friend below the cut.

compote_cake_plate_002.jpg

This one I did run an “Auto Color” and “Auto Contrast” on in Photoshop.

I’ve also taken a shine to this one, this one, this one, and (if only it weren’t in GB), this one I adooooore. Most of those, though, are at prices that inspire me to make a Goodwill pilgrimage this weekend.

Also, anyone want to explain the concept of Vaseline glass to me?

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

lerv it!
I am thinking I am needing one of those sometime soon! I am not a baker- but trying to learn…and hell, it’s just so much sweeter with a cake stand.

Comment by amy

for six dollars, how can you go wrong? :) use it as inspiration! once you get it, obviously you have to make a cake for it…

Comment by architheque

yahoo
i am making some baking from Apples for Jam this weekend- and I have sent my very flea market mother on the hunt :)

Comment by amy




Leave a Reply

