architheque


Ten Minute Ricotta Noodles
March 17, 2008, 7:59 pm
Filed under: in the kitchen

ricotta01.jpg

A super quick dinner to use up the leftover ricotta in my fridge.  Added bonus: it’s really really good.

ricotta03.jpg

Start with a few generous spoonfuls of ricotta cheese.  Shake out a generous amount of oregano (red chili flakes would probably be tasty too).  Crack some fresh pepper over it.  Shave off some Parmesan cheese.  I had a lightbulb moment last week that I could shave cheese with my potato peeler and not get my grater dirty.  It was profound.

ricotta04.jpg

You can use whatever noodles you have on hand – spaghetti, angel hair, linguine.  I used udon noodles.  The were soft and carb-y and I give a thumbs up to the experiment.  The udon took ten minutes to cook. All the prep was done during that ten minutes, so these noodles really do only take that long.

ricotta05.jpg

Drain the noodles and pile, steaming hot, in a heap over the ricotta.

ricotta06.jpg

Mix lightly if you want the noodles to be visually lovely.

ricotta07.jpg

Mix well if you want each bite to be consistent in flavor.   Either way, salt to taste as the last step.  I’ve been playing with my tub of ricotta all week and I know now that ricotta needs quite a bit of salt to bring out the best flavor.  Best to add it at the end where it has the most impact.

This is an uber satisfying dish when you’ve worked late and want something starchy, comforting, hot, and fast.  To make it a little healthier, I’d add spring peas.  I tested a variation of this dish with Israeli couscous and peas and it was great.  To make it less healthy, try diced pancetta or cut up prosciutto.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

