architheque


Bummer: Homemade Hot Chocolate
March 27, 2008, 4:39 pm
Filed under: in the kitchen

hotchocolate01.jpg

Part of the leftovers from that last dinner party was an excess of homemade whipped cream. Not something I eat generally, and I was at a loss for what to do with it. I decided to make hot chocolate, from scratch. I used the recipe off the Hershey’s cocoa powder box, with whole milk, which I’d also had for the party.

hotchocolate02.jpg

I put a lot of whipped cream in the glass, trying to use it up.

hotchocolate03.jpg

I used slightly less milk than the recipe called for, then poured the hot mixture over the whipped cream. It looked delicious. The cream cooled it off enough I could try it right away.

Aaaannnnd…… I didn’t like it.

What a bummer! I don’t know if I’m sadly too sold on hot chocolate out of an envelope, if the whole milk just wasn’t what I was used to, or if it was the enormous amount of whipped cream that threw me. But it tasted cloyingly rich, in a bad way. I was hoping for better – hoping that I’d sit back with my mug and sigh, “Ah, this is what good cocoa should taste like…” Especially as doing it this way means avoiding the partially-hydrogenated oils that are rampant in mixes. Alas.

Back to Swiss Miss for me.

Is there any product that you’ve tried to make from scratch that just didn’t work for you?  What was wrong with it?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

