architheque


Free Plants On Craigslist!
May 13, 2008, 2:26 pm
Filed under: found goods, in the garden

I found twelve (12!) free daylilies on Craigslist. Craig, I love you.

image by Joel Dinda

Dug up the weeds out of this strip of dirt and ’tilled’ it with a shovel as deep as I could get (it was pretty hard). The soil quality wasn’t very good, so I raided our community compost bin for something a little richer to cut in to it.

The daylilies go in.

And then get trimmed, per the advice of the lady who gave them away. I read online that helps the plants focus on getting their roots established instead of feeding the leaves. Don’t know if that’s true or not. (Seems like the trauma of having the leaves cut off would make the plants focus on regrowing the leaves?)

At any rate, there they are. When I can get my hands on some newspaper, I’ll paper down the bed and mulch it. Let’s see what they do.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

