architheque


Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream
May 14, 2008, 12:03 pm
Filed under: in the kitchen

I’ve had my ice cream maker for a while now, but I’ve only ever made apple cider sorbet and a Coke slushie in it. Let me say I have now seen the light.

I was craving sweets last night so badly I’d paced the kitchen six times before realizing it. I resolved to make ice cream, since for the first time in ages I actually had cream in the house. But a quick survey of googled recipes showed me all the things I didn’t have. Like vanilla beans, half and half, and, it turns out, fresh milk. Oops.

I started eliminating recipes based on ingredients, starting with eggs first, as I didn’t feel like adding twenty minutes of stirring on the stovetop to the length of my payoff. Then I eliminated the vanilla bean recipes (keeping vanilla extract recipes). Then any that required large amounts of milk.  Somewhere in the middle, I started sourcing recipes that called for powdered sugar, ’cause I happen to have a ton that needs to be used up. I ended up with a recipe that looked really good…except for the quart of half and half it called for.

In the end, I made up my own recipe. And you know what? Hit it out of the park. Either I’m amazing, or ice cream is hard to screw up. Probably the latter.

It’s a vanilla ice cream base with chopped peppermint bark stirred in. I’d been saving a box of the stuff in the freezer, a gift from Christmas, for precisely an occasion such as this. It was worth the lost space. You can use crushed starlight candies or peppermint extract along with chocolate chips, if you like.

Harry and David peppermint bark!

Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream
(serves 6)

1 1/4 cup heavy whipping cream
1 cup evaporated milk
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1/2 tbsp + 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup finely chopped peppermint bark (put it in the food processor)

Combine the first 4 ingredients in a bowl and whisk until the sugar is dissolved. Place bowl in freezer until mixture is very cold, but still liquid, about fifteen minutes.

Churn according to ice cream maker instructions.

At the soft serve stage, add peppermint bark and continue churning until well mixed.

Like browning chicken, churn longer than you think you need to. I took mine out when what was on top looked like melting ice cream.

But as I was scraping out the bottom, I realized what texture it really should have had. So, keep churning!

After the ice cream gets too thick to continue churning, transfer it to plastic lidded container and freeze until hardened, usually about four hours.

It was my bedtime long before the four hours of hardening were through, so I had to content myself with a few delicious licks of the spoon last night.  But I got ice cream for breakfast this morning.  Oh yes.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

