architheque


Easy Pad Thai
May 15, 2008, 7:30 am
Filed under: in the kitchen

One of the highlights of my kitchen experiences was the moment I mastered a basic pad Thai sauce. Life changing. Or at least palate changing!

My recipe base came from Not Eating Out In New York. The hardest thing about it was sourcing palm sugar (Vietnamese grocery) and tamarind paste (Indian grocery). Once I managed that, it was pad Thai any time I wanted! The more often you make the recipe, the faster it’ll get for you. These days it takes me only as long as it takes to grill my chicken or tofu. That’s faster than I can go pick up take out or have it delivered. The key is buying everything prepared: my chicken comes cut up (“pollo para tacos” at the Hispanic market), my bean sprouts are bought in just the amount I need, the cilantro I destem but don’t chop, and I don’t use the red peppers.

A mere 8 oz. of noodles makes a lot of pad Thai – enough for at least three or four entree sized servings. Having this for lunch the next day at the office really elevates the work day.

It is with this recipe I mastered my fear of too-much-cilantro. There’s really no such thing. When she says use half the bunch – use half the bunch!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] architheque wrote an interesting post today on Easy Pad ThaiHere’s a quick excerptIt is with this recipe I mastered my fear of too-much-cilantro. There’s really no such thing….My recipe base came from Not Eating Out In New York….The more often you make the recipe, the faster it’ll get for you…. […]

Pingback by Recipe » Easy Pad Thai

Hey lady! I love reading your blog and seeing all the interesting things you do! It totally inspires me!

Comment by Kristine

aww, thanks! i went to that knitting potluck last week ~ learned three ways to cast on and how to get going in a basic stitch (also that if you learned to crochet first you tend to ‘pick’ your knit stitch rather than loop it – so true!). now the only sad thing is how long it takes to get an inch of scarf when you’re a newbie! i’ll be watching your blog for inspiration not to give up. :)

Comment by architheque




Leave a Reply

