architheque


These Little Piggies Went to the Market
May 22, 2008, 7:36 am
Filed under: in the kitchen

I wasn’t sure what to title this post, but I wanted to share my “wow” moment with someone.  Despite growing up relatively close to the butchering process and not having any illusions about meat consumption, I still went a little slack jawed on the sidewalk outside my local Vietnamese grocery when I saw this.  I guess I didn’t realize they’re actually doing the last bit of butchering at the grocery itself (it seems so small inside), nor that the meat is transported in such an exposed, unwrapped state.

I’ve never been particularly diligent about washing meat prior to this, assuming perhaps stupidly that health standards require it to be relatively clean when I buy it, but I’m definitely going to wash from here on out (and never use the carts at this grocery again).

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

wow! I am with you on that one. I can’t believe how they are just piled in the truck, then into shopping carts!

Found you using the “random blog” button.

Comment by dudleydawson

ewww – that’s just nasty! Poor little piggies :(

Comment by Liza

Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation :) Anyway … nice blog to visit.

cheers, Thirteen.

Comment by Thirteen




Leave a Reply

