architheque


Not A Weed
May 30, 2008, 7:18 am
Filed under: in the garden

The daylily bed hasn’t been mulched yet, and as a result I’m getting a lot of little weeds sprouting up. This particular young plant I’ve been pulling out by the handful. I’d no idea what it was, but as the adjacent yard is nothing but weeds, I assumed this had blown over (or had been buried dormant in the soil) and was a weed too.

But the last handful I pulled out actually had a seedpod still attached. It’s not a weed – it’s a pumpkin! These pumpkin seeds had been laying dormant in our house compost bin from last Halloween’s jack-o-lanterns. I’d added a bucket of that compost to my flower bed before planting the daylilies and with all the new watering the seeds decided to sprout.

I don’t know what I’d do with a pumpkin plant, so I don’t know whether I’ll keep these or not, but still, learn something new every day. Now I know what a baby pumpkin plant looks like!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

