architheque


Tomato Basil Cauliflower Soup
May 30, 2008, 12:31 pm
Filed under: in the kitchen

Did you know you could substitute Creamy Tomato and Basil Soup for chicken or vegetable stock in a cauliflower soup recipe? I wanted soup, but I also wanted to save the chicken broth I had for paella later this weekend. All that was left in my pantry was a couple of cardboard cartons of organic tomato soup. I thought…why not?

It’s my lunch today and it’s good. Really good.

Tomato Basil Cauliflower Soup

1 large head of cauliflower, trimmed and cut into pieces
1 carton tomato basil soup (preferably organic & low sodium)
1 small onion, diced
1 tbsp butter
1 cup heavy cream or half and half (or evaporated milk, in a pinch)

Melt butter in a large pot. Add onion and saute until soft and translucent but not browned. Add cauliflower florets and soup. Bring to slight boil, turn down heat, and simmer for 20 minutes or until cauliflower is tender. Stir in cream and put pot in fridge or freezer until contents no longer emit steam, even if stirred. Once mixture is reasonably lukewarm, transfer to a blender and puree, in batches if necessary. If done in batches, combine batches back in main pot and stir well. Salt to taste, and reheat if desired. Serve with dollops of yogurt or sour cream, torn basil leaves, fresh cracked pepper, and hot sourdough bread.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That looks taaasty!
I would love to get a recommended recipe for paella, been wanting to make it for a while and it’d be nice to have a knowledgeable starting point.

Comment by woodley park-zoo

if you don’t have a paella pan, the recipe from cook’s illustrated (aka america’s test kitchen) came to me as highly recommended. it’s made in a dutch oven. i haven’t tried it, but the lady who recommended it is going into business as a personal chef, so i take her word for it. :)

Comment by architheque

Ah thank you so much for answering my question! I want to get that book of ‘Best Recipes’ by them, I wonder if it’s in there? I’ll google right now to see if I can rustle it up. Dutch oven, can-do, no paella pan yet but maybe a Dansk Kobenstyle someday! *covet*

Comment by woodley park-zoo

haha, good luck winning *that* ebay bid! :) i briefly flirted with the idea of one after seeing them all over design*sponge and apartment therapy, but the bidding is vicious for those suckers.

Comment by architheque

I was trying to find a way to combine cauliflower and tomato in a soup as that’s what I have in my fridge tonight… will try :)

Comment by Raaga




Leave a Reply

