architheque


Roasted Scallions
June 19, 2008, 7:26 am
Filed under: in the kitchen

Family sized bunches of scallions were delivered two weeks in a row this month. I cut one bunch up and stashed it in the freezer, predominately for future dips and garnishes. The other bunch I decided to experiment with.

This bunch had already spent two weeks in the fridge in a Green Bag. Here I trimmed off the roots and peeled off any noticeably old layers.

A bath of olive oil, sea salt, and fresh cracked pepper.

Swish the scallions around in the oil and lay them out on a pan.

Roast at 350°F for up to fifteen minutes, or until your smoke alarm goes off. (Just kidding. Kind of.) The tips of the scallions will cook much faster than the bulbs. It’s to be expected, and it’s okay if they brown a little. You can keep the roasting as even as possible by ‘stirring’ the scallions every five minutes or so while they’re cooking.

I chopped most of my roasted scallions and added them to a pan of roasted veggies, but for the small tender ones, I twirled them around my finger to make a little green nest and ate them on crackers with a strong aged cheddar. I never knew I’d like scallions so much. The second week scallions showed up in the box, I sighed, “Not more of them!” Now all I can think is, “More please!”

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] white turnips, Parisian carrots, new baby red potatoes, shallots, and scallions. The scallions were roasted separately due to their delicateness, and added at the end. I think my oven isn’t true temp – I cooked […]

Pingback by Roasted Root Vegetables « architheque




Leave a Reply

