architheque


Best Tea Ever
February 4, 2008, 12:28 pm
Filed under: green, in the kitchen, shopping

tea.jpg

This would probably be The Best Tea Ever even if my mom hadn’t kept a bag of it in the “tea cabinet” over the microwave when I was twelve and totally ingrained the taste of it into my nostalgic memory taste buds.

What is this Best Tea Ever? It’s hibiscus! Hibiscus tea is ridiculously good for you – full of antioxidants and good plant matter, and it doesn’t have any caffeine to give you the jitters or addict you. If you’re into traditional medicine, it’s also believed to be good for your blood pressure and has mild diet advantages. But beyond that, it tastes really really good. Hibiscus tea is tart and fruity and it’s delicious hot or cold. In the winter I like it hot and strong. In the summer I like to brew it extra extra strong, cool it off, then cut it with sparking water for a healthy homemade take on soda.

tea03.jpg

My stash came in the aforementioned box of goodies I ordered from Mountain Rose Herbs. This is also where my mom used to buy the stuff, so I’m understandably brand loyal, but I sincerely believe it’s the best hibiscus tea to be had. Plus, like so much stuff from MRH, it’s organic. The exact name of this tea is “Hibiscus High Tea,” and it contains organic hibiscus flowers, organic rosehips, organic lemongrass, organic orange peel, organic spearmint, organic rose petals and a pinch of organic stevia.

tea04.jpg

Mmm mmm good. Get yours here, $4.95 for three ounces, or $21.50 for a pound (I went with a pound, which I estimate will last me well over a month even if I drink it multiple times daily).


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment